Canada. The Corporation operates under the Canadian Broadcasting Act, 1936, which provides that the Corporation shall consist of a Board of nine Governors chosen to give representation to the principal geographical divisions of Canada. In practice, the Board of Governors determines and supervises policy, but actual administration and operations are under the direction of the General Manager. The by-laws of the Corporation approved by the Governor in Council provide a formula for general administration. The administrative organization of the CBC consists of the following Divisions: Executive, Personnel and Administration, Finance, Engineering, Program, Press and Information, Commercial, Broadcast Regulations, and Station Relations.

Under the Canadian Broadcasting Act, the CBC is charged with the responsibility of formulating regulations controlling the establishment and operation of networks, the character of any and all programs broadcast in Canada and the proportion of time that may be devoted to advertising in broadcast programs. The CBC's regulations were drawn up to ensure a certain standard in all broadcast programs. The CBC neither exercises, nor authorizes any private station to exercise on its behalf, censorship on any matter broadcast on the air. The responsibility of seeing that the regulations are observed rests with the station management.

Subsection 2.—Operations

Broadcasting Facilities.—Under Sect. 24 of the Act, the CBC is required to review all applications for licences for new stations as well as applications for increases in power and changes in frequency or changes in location. Under these provisions, the licensing of extensions in broadcasting facilities involves two considerations: the first is non-interference with the present and proposed facilities of the CBC; and the second is that high-power transmission facilities, on both longand short-wave bands, are reserved for use by the CBC. Within these limitations it is the policy of the Board to serve community interests by giving every practical encouragement and assistance to local stations.

CBC operates the Trans-Canada network, the Dominion network, and the French network in Quebec. The Trans-Canada network is made up of 24 stations; 7 CBC-owned and 17 privately owned. The Dominion network is made up of 29 basic stations of which 28 are privately owned. The French network has 3 basic stations all CBC-owned and 7 privately owned supplementary stations.

The Dominion network was inaugurated on Jan. 2, 1944, and provides alternative program service to listeners and also expanded distribution facilities for programs of national importance, together with a number of top-ranking sponsored shows.

The total power of CBC stations, which includes four 50,000-watt transmitters, is 218,100 watts and of the privately owned network stations, 56,200. In developing the extensive coverage of the CBC network, designed to serve as much of the Dominion as possible, the needs of the rural population are considered as well as those of the urban population. Quebec Province is equipped with both English and French outlets.

Subsidiary hookup broadcasting is controlled by the CBC, and all hookups must have the authorization of the Corporation. Contractual arrangements with stations for commercial hookups are handled by the Corporation's Commercial Division.